At a briefing on the Historic Preservation Fund (HPF) on Capitol Hill on June 17, 2015, Historic Preservation Caucus Co-Chairs Reps. Michael Turner (R-OH) and Earl Blumenauer (D-OR) announced their introduction of the National Historic Preservation Amendments Act of 2015. The Act would reauthorize the HPF for 10 years at $150M annually. For more information, see here and here.

HPF is a critical component of Preservation50’s goal to “Advocate for sound policies and enhanced funding support for heritage preservation.” A common theme coming out of the discussions was the critical importance of the HPF to the continued functioning of the US preservation community and for the protection of America’s heritage for future generations.

In addition to Reps. Turner and Blumenauer, speaking at the briefing were:

  • David Brown, Executive Vice President and Chief Preservation Officer, National Trust for Historic Preservation
  • Michael Bean, Department of Interior, Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary for Fish and Wildlife and Parks
  • Elizabeth Hebron, Deputy Director of the National Conference of State Historic Preservation Officers
  • Elizabeth Hughes, Maryland State Historic Preservation Officer and National Conference of State Historic Preservation Officers Board President
  • Bambi Kraus, Executive Director of the National Association of Tribal Historic Preservation Officers
  • Elizabeth Kostelny, Executive Director of Preservation Virginia
  • Ian Burrow, Government Affairs, Chair for the American Cultural Resources Association

Track the progress of this legislation on the Preservation50 website, and for more information and resources about the HPF (including a link to the full text of the National Historic Preservation Act), visit the P50 website’s dedicated NHPA page.